RUN Powered by ADP® vs QuickBooks® Payroll
ADP doesn’t publish prices, so you’ll need a quote to compare. QuickBooks Payroll costs $1,446 a year for 5 employees in one state. Use that as your benchmark when ADP quotes you. Enter your own team below to see QuickBooks Payroll’s exact total.
What each would cost you per year
Annual totals from each provider’s published prices, for a team paid every other week that wants its federal and state payroll taxes filed for it.
| Your team | ADP | QuickBooks Payroll |
|---|---|---|
| Published price | ADP doesn’t publish a price | $88/month + $6.50 per employee/month |
| 1 employee | Quote only | $1,134 1Simple Start |
| 5 employees | Quote only | $1,446 1Simple Start |
| 10 employees | Quote only | $1,836 1Simple Start |
| 25 employees | Quote only | $3,006 1Simple Start |
| 5 employees in 2 states | Quote only | Not stated 2 |
| 5 employees + 3 contractors | Quote only | $1,680 1Simple Start |
- Medium confidence: QuickBooks Payroll doesn’t say what it charges for W-2 forms, so this total doesn’t include it. Your actual cost may be higher.
- QuickBooks Payroll’s pricing page doesn’t say which plan includes multi-state payroll, so there’s no total to show you. Ask QuickBooks Payroll before you sign up.
Which one fits your business
- Next-day direct deposit? QuickBooks Payroll includes it; ADP’s site doesn’t say.
- Time tracking? QuickBooks Payroll includes it on Plus; ADP’s site doesn’t say.
Feature comparison
| ADP | QuickBooks Payroll | |
|---|---|---|
| Files federal and state payroll taxes for you | Included | Included |
| Employees in more than one state | Not stated on ADP's pricing page | Not stated on QuickBooks Payroll's pricing page |
| 1099 contractor payments | Not stated on ADP's pricing page | Included |
| Time tracking | Not stated on ADP's pricing page | Not available |
Run your own numbers
Filled in with the 5-person, 2-state team from the table above. Change anything, then see both totals.
Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, ADP or QuickBooks Payroll?
ADP doesn’t publish prices, so you’ll need a quote to compare. QuickBooks Payroll costs $1,446 a year for 5 employees in one state. Use that as your benchmark when ADP quotes you.
Do ADP and QuickBooks Payroll both handle multi-state payroll?
ADP: not on any plan we verified. QuickBooks Payroll: not on any plan we verified.