W-2 employees
1099 contractors
Count of states

Set from the States field above

More options

Plans

Essential PayrollEnhanced PayrollComplete Payroll & HR+HR Pro Payroll & HR
Base fee Not published source Not published source Not published source Not published source
Per employee Not published source Not published source Not published source Not published source
Per contractor Not published source Not published source Not published source Not published source
Per payroll run None source None source None source None source
Additional states None source None source None source None source
W-2 forms Not published source Not published source Not published source Not published source
1099 forms Not published source Not published source Not published source Not published source
Monthly minimum None source None source None source None source
One-time setup None source None source None source None source

What's included on each plan

Essential PayrollEnhanced PayrollComplete Payroll & HR+HR Pro Payroll & HR
Employees in more than one state Not stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing page
1099 contractor payments Not stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing page
Files federal and state payroll taxes for you IncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
Time tracking Not stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing page
Health benefits administration Not stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing page
Workers comp administration Not stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing page
HR tools (documents, onboarding) Not availableNot availableIncludedIncluded
Next-day direct deposit Not stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing page
City or local payroll tax filing Not stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing page
Tipped employees Not stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing page
Accountant access Not stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing pageNot stated on ADP's pricing page

Before you choose ADP

Worked examples

1 employee, 1 state

Essential Payroll is the entry plan and covers everything you need. ADP doesn’t publish a price for it, so you’ll need a quote.

5 employees, 1 state

Essential Payroll is the entry plan and covers everything you need. ADP doesn’t publish a price for it, so you’ll need a quote.

10 employees, 2 states

ADP doesn’t publish a price or say whether it covers multi-state payroll. Ask for a quote and confirm it does.

25 employees, 1 state

Essential Payroll is the entry plan and covers everything you need. ADP doesn’t publish a price for it, so you’ll need a quote.

Compare ADP

Other payroll providers

Frequently asked questions

Does ADP publish its pricing?

No. ADP asks businesses to request a custom quote. We list it with the features it offers and never estimate a price it has not published.

Which ADP plan do I need?

It depends on what your business requires. Multi-state payroll, contractor payments, time tracking and similar needs are only on some tiers. The calculator picks the cheapest plan that meets your requirements and tells you which requirement ruled the others out.